• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 ncp

ncp

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 February 2007 - 05:06 PM

Only three hounds have ever won Best in SHow at Westminster, and they've all been Afghans or whippets-- ornamental-looking hounds, not hounds that look like they've ever been on a hunt. The last hound to win Best in Show was 24 years ago.

What do you think that is?

#2 karit25

karit25

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 February 2007 - 09:11 PM

That's a great question, really. I admit, I am not an expert, by any means, but I have watched these things for years and know a bit about dogs. When looking at the stats for the past shows, I am always a little shocked at what kind of dog HASN'T won before. I guess it just depends on the year, the competition and all of that. It seems a shame some years, b/c I think some should have won when maybe they didn't. I guess that's true for any competition, isn't it? I usually have my favorites in each group and always have my standard favorite breeds, but I try not to let that influence what I think a deserving dog might be that year. It's hard, though, ya know? There have certainly been years when I thought a hound should have won it, just as with other groups, but I'm not in the ring judging...unfortunately! lol! Sometimes, it just seems the bigger dogs (as not all hounds are, I know) seem to get less attention than some of the smaller one's....IDK...just my opinion. Great comment!

#3 dunbrine47

dunbrine47

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 16 February 2011 - 05:36 PM

I bring news from the future...oh wait......this is the future according to the OP.

#4 btrfly7

btrfly7

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 February 2011 - 07:59 PM

Hi...New to Forum..
Looking to see :unsure: if WKC will air another showing of the show this past weekend....? Anyone know if it will be re - broadcast?